Sarah Beth Hunt

writer on a journey in search of oracles, alchemists and hidden doors to wisdom


Dear friend,

I treasure you.

Because you make me feel like I’m not the only one in life with a tantruming child. Instead you show me how to sit and accept and love-in-spite-of…

Because you remind me that I’m not the only one who feels like they never have their shit together.  Instead you show me that life isn’t about always being on time, always knowing what to do, always having the right forms in the right moments for the right people…it’s just about trying your best and being yourself…

Because you allow me to question received wisdom and do it my own way.  You listen while I talk through my worries and doubts that I should believe (but don’t) what everyone else seems to believe.  And you say, Yes!  I know! I think these things too!

Because you tell me that There is nothing wrong with you.  You are fine, wonderful, just as you are, disheveled hair and food stains on your clothes and all…

Because you don’t judge me when I am at my worst.  When I scream at my kids (and then feel like a terrible person), when I complain about things I should be grateful for (and then feel like a terrible person), when I say the wrong thing in the moment (and then feel like a terrible person).

You are my true friend.  And so you just shake your head and say, Don’t worry, I’m human too.

You are my true friend,

by many names,

and I don’t know what I would do without you.

6 thoughts on “ode to a friend

  1. momasteblog says:

    This is lovely. Thank you. We all need a friend like this in our lives. You are not alone… in any of it.

    1. Hey, great to hear from you and thanks for commenting! I have been loving your blog …a silent but great love, and yet another example of not having my shit quite together 😉 Keep ’em coming! And I really appreciate knowing I’m not alone…

      1. momasteblog says:

        That is really sweet for you to say! I often tell people “I suck at life,” because I feel like I can’t keep up with being social, reading blogs, commenting, working, handling my children, etc. So I totally feel ya’. But we are doing great. And we are not alone!

      2. I think there are more of us out there than are admitting it! 😉

  2. Kathy Stevens says:

    Sarah, your Mom is that kind of friend to me. I’m so grateful for her. Glad you have the same kind of friend. I don’t think everyone does.

  3. cazingall says:

    Friends like these are rare and precious finds indeed. And, I believe, we are only able to open up to this kind of friendship when we truly manifest it in the world ourselves.

    May you always have deep, true, loving, honouring friendship in your life, sister. May all beings know the beauty of such friendship. I know I do… Xx

Leave a Reply

